fatrockstar: (WTF?)
[personal profile] fatrockstar
As you are probably aware from my Txt-LJ post previous, Garret had the cable shut off. I was pretty damn livid at this discovery, seeing as I'd left work with a major headache with the intention of tracking a very important email from home. Without the cable modem that was not possible. I called Comcast and they were not helpful because I was never a name on the account there and could do absolutely nothing.

"Sorry ma'am, we can't just reactivate the modem you have there. Your husband has to return it to us and we will give you a new one." What happens if he doesn't return it? "He has to pay for it -- probably about $40." Super.

I got an appointment to install cable, but it's a week from now. I've been satisfying my internet urge through txt-lj and emailing photos from my phone (the Txt-lj only allows me 160 characters plus any tags/security/icon codes; emailing a photo gives me 1000, which is why you've seen posts with photos that mean nothing at the end of them). Right now I'm at the library. This keyboard smells like a fat man on cigarettes. Yuck.

I debated taking the cable modem (now useless to me) and running over it with my car. Let him pay the $40 -- like I care, I'm pissed off -- It's not like it's any good to me, and they're probably just going to send it to Africa. Instead, I took a few deep breaths and tried to contact Garret. I called. No answer. Left terse "call me" voice mail. Called his office. Nothing. Called his mobile again and left a longer message in the most controlled voice I could muster. No response from my neutral text message, so I declared "fuck it" and got ready to go to Conor Byrne.

This morning I got a response via text message:
I'm a little confused myself. It was supposed to be next week not this week. I planned on letting you know. I'm a bit peeved myself considering they forgot to give me the install date.

I replied to that with, well I'm stuck -- they won't let me use the modem that's here. Period. Reply:
No? Why not? That makes no sense. I'll call em and find out wtf. I got a call on fri from the comcast guy saying "i moved your install date because we're not quite done." I said "you never GAVE me an install date" I bet he fucked it up. Sorry about the hassle it was a surprise to me too

Let me just say this. And I mean it as-a-matter-of-factly: I do not know anyone in this world who can cause so much trouble by doing absolutely nothing except my soon-to-be ex-husband. Nobody at all. If his inaction doesn't create the problem, then the problem finds him. I used to jokingly call him "Captain Chaos." Who knew how true it was? Not me. I was in denial.

So now I have no internet and no television until Thursday, and on Thursday I have to leave work after lunch to wait for the cable guy during the four-hour window he *might* show up in. Wheeeee. I refuse to post locked entries from work these days (much less login), so if I don't make it to the library on the way home it will be post-by-telephone for a while. I guess it's time to pull out that Lindsay Lohan doll and start exploring the town. It should make for an interesting photo essay.

Profile

fatrockstar: (Default)
fatrockstar

February 2017

S M T W T F S
   1 234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728    
Page generated Tuesday, 24 March 2026 17:48

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags