HAUS

Tuesday, 25 October 2005 00:43
fatrockstar: (Mrs. Clean)
[personal profile] fatrockstar
We're in the market for a house. Every day we get an email from a realtor/lending agent duo we signed up with when we attended a "no money down" homebuying seminar a year or so ago, and they've been sending us daily listings full of complete crap. Why? Because back then we couldn't get approved for enough money to buy a house, so we had to settle for condos. Worse than that, we couldn't even afford a decent condo.

Fast forward a year or so later, and we're now able to afford more than twice what we were originally approved for. This revelation was discovered through a loan officer we found through a satisfied customer, and the L.O. is in no way affiliated with the "no money down" parties we seem to be irrevokably chained to. This became evident when we contacted the realtor sending us the daily listings to up our price range and they got all suspicious on us.

We didn't tell them what we're really approved for. I'm not sure why. I think it might have to do with us not wanting to use up every last penny of what we're good for.

We're still getting crap listings. Realtors leave out all kinds of information just to get you to call them. If you call them and the listing isn't what you want, then they can suggest something else on their list, and then you're stuck with a bunch of plastic, ambitous, pushy agents that won't leave you be. At least that's what it sure seems like.

After much soul-searching, we decided to abandon Seattle properties entirely. The taxes over there are insane because of the crap over the monorail and rebuilding (or replacing) the earthquake-damaged viaduct. Our target neighborhood is one where we can't see our neighbors out any window (because of trees, space, or whatever) somewhere North of where we are now. Bothell? Woodinville? We also need to be able to either make a lot of noise or pad a room we can make a lot of noise IN.

Any of you folks out there with recommendations, tips, tricks, or advice: I'm listening. Leave your two cents here.
Tags:

25/10/05 09:19 (UTC)
[identity profile] dianthus.livejournal.com
A house is just a big money and time sink. Don't do it. Part of what happened with me was I wanted the freedom of having a house, but not any of the responsibility. And it's not really freedom when you live with someone else anyway.
/bitter

25/10/05 09:20 (UTC)
[identity profile] dianthus.livejournal.com
Especially since you just started that job. You might not like it as much as you hope, and if you have a mortgage, you're trapped.

25/10/05 17:26 (UTC)
[identity profile] winifred.livejournal.com
The responsibility doesn't bother me much. I'm more worried about Garret being able to pull his weight (i.e. making a phone call to the contractor or repairman when applicable, paying the lawn maintenance service). I'm more interested in having a space I can modify to suit my needs without worrying about neighbors.

We've also thought out the job situation, and calculated for time off (contract hiatus, medical/family leave, etc). I think we'll be okay. Believe me, I've worried about all of it already. :)

26/10/05 11:43 (UTC)
[identity profile] crazy-talk23.livejournal.com
wow - that's a drastic statement to make to someone who is wanting to buy a home. yes, a home is a lot of responsibility but its YOURS. something you put sweat equity into as well as turn the house into a home.. i would say if you don't want responsibility, stick to an apartment - so far any work we've done for our home (yard work, simple painting, etc. ) has made our hours ours and my husband and i love being here. we both are busy people - he with school and work, me just with work.. but at the end of the day we come back to our home and its wonderful.

a mortgage isn't a trap either - its no longer pissing away money on rental.

27/10/05 03:53 (UTC)
[identity profile] winifred.livejournal.com
I think that's the biggest thing right there -- not wasting any more money on rent. Instead, every payment I make is an investment in something I'll eventually own outright. When it comes down to it, I don't pay a lot in rent because if I'm going to pay a huge wad of money I want something to show for it instead of a receipt.

Profile

fatrockstar: (Default)
fatrockstar

February 2017

S M T W T F S
   1 234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728    
Page generated Wednesday, 25 March 2026 15:09

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags