Tuesday, 7 October 2003

Gym time. woo!

Tuesday, 7 October 2003 14:09
fatrockstar: (Chook)
So I'm at the gym last night, going back to my college training split of backs/biceps, chest/triceps, & legs and doing pretty well. Body-for-Life has made me a little more aware of how much rest I actually take between sets, so I was able to do my lifting and my cardio in about an hour. I do most of my lifting in the "free weights" section of the gym, and it was pretty empty except for about six people. Me, two college guys, this mustached spandex dude, and a couple of others.

So I walk up to a long row of adjustable, empty benches and choose one. I wrestle with it a little to turn it into an incline bench, set my water bottle down next to it, then walk two feet to the weight rack to grab a couple of 10# dumbbells. I haven't taken my eyes off for even ten seconds, but when I turn around, Mr. Mustache has taken my seat--you know, the one I wrestled with to an incline position? I looked him in the eye like "excuse me? you just BUTTED in on my space," but he didn't care. The two college guys stopped what they were doing and stared at him in disbelief. After staring at him and blocking his view, he still didn't bother to recognize that he had taken my spot (keep in mind that I had *just* turned my back on that bench when he decided to take it), so I said "don't let ME get in your way, jerk" and wrestled with the bench next to it. He still didn't react. So once he finished his set and went for another set of dumbbells, I made sure he heard me call him a jackass.

He wasn't that much bigger than me, I could have taken him. And yeah, I was being VERY passive/aggressive. One of the other guys in the free weight area was the gym manager, and the last thing I wanted to do was get my ass thrown out. I'm sure I could have been polite, but that went right out the window when I made eye contact with him and he blew me off without so much as a "please move, you're blocking my reflection." You'd think he would have noticed my water bottle sitting right there next to the seat. Thank gawd he didn't sit right on it, because that's exactly the position I put it in SO THIS WOULDN'T HAPPEN.

You know, even the hardbodies at my gym that seem ubersnooty and egocentric and are obviously competition-grade physiques aren't RUDE. They ask if you're using a piece of equipment before they try to use it, even if you aren't even standing next to it.

I guess the only good thing that came out of it was that I was able to channel that anger and lift a little more weight than usual, AND he left right after that set.

I hate inconsiderate gymrats.

Peeve!

Tuesday, 7 October 2003 15:37
fatrockstar: (Default)
It makes my head hurt when people write "OOOOOPPPPS" instead of "Ooops." It's just ONE 'p' folks. More than that and it turns into a noise that doesn't mean anything.

Profile

fatrockstar: (Default)
fatrockstar

February 2017

S M T W T F S
   1 234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728    

Page Summary

Page generated Monday, 23 March 2026 19:06

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags